Review: The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by V.E Schwab

Never pray to the gods who answer after dark.

Title: The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue

Author: V.E Schwab

Published by: Tor Books

Genre: Adult, Fantasy and LGBT

Hardback: 448 Pages

Released: October 6, 2020

Rating: I doubt it needs a rating but this one is FIVE stars.

Goodreads Synopsis:

A Life No One Will Remember. A Story You Will Never Forget.
France, 1714: in a moment of desperation, a young woman makes a Faustian bargain to live forever and is cursed to be forgotten by everyone she meets. Thus begins the extraordinary life of Addie LaRue, and a dazzling adventure that will play out across centuries and continents, across history and art, as a young woman learns how far she will go to leave her mark on the world. But everything changes when, after nearly 300 years, Addie stumbles across a young man in a hidden bookstore and he remembers her name. 

My review:

In the beginning, we see a young girl running away from a small lifeb, and an old lady who is in touch with nature and the old gods. From there we meet Addie Larue who makes a deal with a night god. You get to read Addie’s past and her present and how she left her mark behind. The Boy Addie meets that remembers her name is a spiritually powerful person (I hope that makes sense) I related to him on another level, he was so lost and needed someone like Addie to help him see that his life is valuable. I also related to Addie, because I sometimes feel like I’m living a small life when I should be living a much memorable life and I have lots to see and do before it’s too late and time catches up. Addie lives her life as a ghost until she finds herself in the boy she meets.

“Because Happiness is brief, and history is lasting, and in the end, everyone wants to be remembered”


The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is Victoria’s love letter to her readers. I didn’t think I needed a story like this until now, We all know this year has been a sad and unknowing year so Addie LaRue’s story will make you question how you are living your life and what can you do to make it more meaningful. I’m glad Victoria decided to release Addie’s story this year because the younger version of myself wouldn’t of appreciate or grasp the message of this book, Time is cruel and in the end, we will fight for more time so we can leave a mark behind. I cried and I laughed, Addie LaRue’s story will live in the reader’s hearts forever, and I’m sure that’s what Victoria Schwab wanted.

“Do you know how you live three hundred years?, The same way you live one. A second at a time.”

Thank you to Jordan from Tor Books, Tor and Victoria Schwab for the amazing rep package and for the chance to read a early copy and being able to review this amazing book. This review is my honest opinion.

Leave a comment